Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
Notes on Teaching Linguistics As a Science

آخـــر الـــمـــشـــاركــــات

+ الرد على الموضوع
النتائج 1 إلى 9 من 9

الموضوع: Notes on Teaching Linguistics As a Science

بروفيسور ترجمة اللغة الإنجليزية الصورة الرمزية د. دنحا طوبيا كوركيس
    تاريخ التسجيل
    28/09/2006
    العمر
    المشاركات
    معدل تقييم المستوى

افتراضي Notes on Teaching Linguistics As a Science

Notes on Teaching Linguistics As a Science

Prof. Dr Dinha T. Gorgis

I've been teaching linguistics for over three decades at Arab universities. Most, if not all, introductory textbooks define 'linguistics' as the scientific study of language without giving convincing justifications (but see David Crystal's (1971): "Linguistics" for that matter, for example).
    Well, I break down the word 'linguistics' into, let's say,
    morphemes starting with 'ics' (science) as in physics, then'ist' (standing for a scientist) as in botanist, and finally [lingu] corresponding
    to Sussure's 'langue', i.e. system of language).
    So three things are involved in the word: (1) the discipline of study,(2) the person specializing in the field of study, and (3)the object of study.

The second question I often ask is: What makes linguistics a science like any other science? In order to answer such a question, a number of criteria must be met. By introducing these criteria, e.g. systematic observation, objectivity, economy, etc., an experienced instructor can easily convince any student in the hard and/or applied sciences, that linguistics is indeed a science. Following this would be a question related to the qualifications of a person who already is/ will be involved in accounting for human language, any language(s). In this regard, something about field linguistics and its pioneers is necessary.